06.07.2018  The Information and Public Relation Department of Novovoronezh NPP

On the base of Novovoronezh NPP a new department of Voronezh State University (VSU) in the specialty “Nuclear Power Plants” will be started

On the base of Novovoronezh NPP a new department of Voronezh State University (VSU) - where both VSU staff and NPP’s personnel will work – will be started. It is planned that each course year will constitute of 15-25 students.

This was told during visiting session of Novovoronezh NPP’s international conference “Yadro 2018” by the assistant professor of the VSU Nuclear physics department Viktor Vakhtel.

These days the conference is being held on the base of the VSU that this year celebrates its 100th anniversary. More than 150 physicists from Russia and CIS countries, as well as postgraduates and senior students participate in it.

This scientific event is hold in Russia for the 68th time. It is organized by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation, the RAS, the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, the MSU Research Department of nuclear physics and the St Petersburg University.

The main directions of the discussion at the Novovoronezh NPP were: the fundamental problems of nuclear power industry and nuclear technologies, the experience and problems of the specialists’ training in the field of nuclear physics, nuclear power industry and nuclear technologies for Russia and foreign countries.

The last topic is of the special interest for the VSU: this May the State University was included into the Consortium of Rosatom Supporting universities. It includes such leading universities of Russia as the National Research Nuclear University MEPhI, the Bauman Moscow State Technical University, etc.

“Due to this event we will start a new specialty – “Nuclear Power Plants” with specialization in Operation and engineering”, V. Vakhtel explained. “We hope that we will start admit students next year.”

Novovoronezh NPP is a branch of Rosenergoatom JSC (a part of the largest Division of Rosatom State Corporation – Electric Power Division). The Plant is situated on the River Don bank 42 km South of Voronezh. This is the first NPP of Russia with VVER type reactors (Water-Water Power Reactors of containment type with water under pressure). Three reactors of the Plant are the main ones – the prototypes of the serial power reactors. The first power unit was commissioned in 1964, the second one - in 1969, the third one – in 1971, the fourth one – in 1972, and the fifth one – in 1980.

The power units No 1 and No 2 were shut down in 1984 and 1990, respectively. The power unit No 3 was shut down in 2016 for the decommissioning events. The power unit No 4 was shut down for modernization works. The power unit No 1 of Novovoronezh NPP-2 was commissioned on 27 February, 2017. The power unit No 2 is in the stage of commissioning works.

The latest information about radiation situation near Russian NPPS and other nuclear power facilities can be seen at www.russianatom.ru

Back to the list